Index ⇒ Games Support ⇒ Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Trouble playing a game? Game not running well? Ask help here.

Moderator: LW Moderator

Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby Porus » Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:28 pm

In the video settings section, there is a quality setting (options are low or high), but I can't seem to be able to set it to high, I can only select low since it will be stuck at low, and won't even change to high. I did search but found only one forum that has discussed the same issue here: https://www.betaarchive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=20816. I have done a clean install of windows but still the same issue persists, I even tried emulators such as 3d analyzer but no luck. Has anyone else had this problem and found a solution, because I tried messing with config files but it would reset the settings every time the game started. :thanks: in advance.
Porus
Super Member
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:39 pm
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 16 times in 15 posts

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby annoyment » Sat Oct 19, 2019 9:55 pm

1. Mod the configs, then lock 'em as read-only (right-click Properties) before running the EXE?
2. Try running them as admin, or non-admin?
"Hellos, plz help with this, will help backward." -weakling
Image
User avatar
annoyment
Super Member
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Tue Jul 14, 2015 9:30 pm
Location: Land of KEBAB REMOVERS
Thanks: 300
Thanked: 370 times in 318 posts

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby Porus » Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:06 pm

Already tried :cry: :x.
Porus
Super Member
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:39 pm
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 16 times in 15 posts

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby Meddle » Sun Nov 10, 2019 4:47 pm

If you'd read the entire linked thread you'd have realized that the settings are contained in the registry.

This is the location:
Code: Select all
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Activision\Kung Fu Panda\Settings


VideoQuality is the option you want. Double click that option and select decimal as the base (it will auto convert to hexadecimal for you).

Low = 0
Medium = 1
High = 2

Input your desired quality according to the legend above. Hit ok and close the registry editor. This should allow you to get the high option setting.

However I have noticed that if you attempt to change the resolution (to a res such as 1920x1080) in the registry that it will go back to its default of 1024x768. Confirmed by taking a screenshot with Fraps after these settings were changed. If you wanted this to be permanent and actually work, you'd probably have to hex edit the game executable. In contrast, it will keep the setting made to VideoQuality (likely because we aren't changing "VideoQuality" to values outside of its programmed range).

This was tested using the demo.
User avatar
Meddle
Super Member
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: In the driver's seat.
Thanks: 312
Thanked: 659 times in 478 posts

The following user would like to thank Meddle for this post
Porus

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby Porus » Sun Nov 10, 2019 7:27 pm

I did read the entire thread and did change the registry entries but it would keep reverting to low after starting the game. As for hex editing, I don't have much knowledge on how to do it, but I am trying to tweak values here and there. :thanks:
Porus
Super Member
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:39 pm
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 16 times in 15 posts

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby hfric » Mon Nov 11, 2019 11:57 pm

what kind of pc you have and on what OS you play this ?
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Image
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
User avatar
hfric
3DSL Moderator
 
Posts: 4634
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 2:51 am
Thanks: 112
Thanked: 445 times in 380 posts

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby Porus » Tue Nov 12, 2019 1:15 pm

I play this on the same laptop that I mentioned in my Primal Carnage post viewtopic.php?f=3&t=17253&view=unread#unread

CPU: Intel Core i3 m380 2.53 GHz
GPU: Intel (R) HD Graphics Arrandale (Ironlake)
RAM: DDR3 2 GB (1.86 GB Usable)
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 x64
Porus
Super Member
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:39 pm
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 16 times in 15 posts

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby Meddle » Wed Nov 13, 2019 12:18 am

The integrated GPU is the likely problem, but have you tried to adjust the power settings. For example, setting the OS to performance rather than balanced or "power-saving".

If the opportunity presents itself you should really try to get at least 4GB of ram into the machine. 2GB is the minimum required for Windows7x64 and as such you are going to run into problems with many apps (incl. games).
User avatar
Meddle
Super Member
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2006 9:44 pm
Location: In the driver's seat.
Thanks: 312
Thanked: 659 times in 478 posts

The following user would like to thank Meddle for this post
Porus

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby Porus » Wed Nov 13, 2019 2:28 pm

Yes my power settings are set to 'high performance' ever since I installed windows because 'Balanced' and 'power-saving' are known to give me bad performance in games. As for RAM, I will try to upgrade, but I am leaving to America soon and am going to live there forever, and I am going to build a custom computer there with the following specs:

Motherboard: Gigabyte Z390 AORUS MASTER
CPU: Intel Core i9-9900KF
GPU: Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti Founder's Edition
RAM: 32-128GB DDR4-2666
VRAM: 11GB GDDR6
OS: Windows 10 x64
VR Headset For Games
(The list is going to remain like this unless there are better specs released)

Then I can finally be able to play games that I can't now.

EDIT: You are right, the integrated graphics are most likely the problem, as 90% games are not compatible with them.
Porus
Super Member
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:39 pm
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 16 times in 15 posts

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby hfric » Thu Nov 14, 2019 3:58 am

ehm why not go for AMD Ryzen its better and cheaper then Intels lineup (AMD Ryzen 9 3900X 12core\24treads is the way to go now if you play in 4K , and in two months they will post theirs 64core\128treads Ryzen Cpu , there are even talks about 128core\256treads ... Intel Cpus are not wroth it now )... don't get Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Ti but Nvidia GeForce RTX 2080 Super ... yeah i know its a silly name, but the difference is the price (super is half the price of Ti) and it has 4 gigs less of ram (you only need 11gigs in 8k ,but in that resolution even Ti cards chokes), its 2% slower then Ti , and its build on new smaller Cpu Die that generates less heat compared to Ti ... that needs 10W less to run ... you only need 32gigs of ram (64ram if you do 8k video, and 128gigs if you are on a server that needs a large ram buffer) ... head set for VR , well if your on the cheap you can get the PSVR , it easy to reprogram it to work on PC (even use those move motion controlers) just see the tutorials ... but something PC like well , anything that uses Valve's Index Controller that can track your whole hand ( fingers included )... a good example how index Works is BoneWorks "https://store.steampowered.com/app/823500/BONEWORKS/" or the VR mode of No Man's Sky on PC ...

and back to the topic ... yeah its the integrated gpu fault
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Image
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ஜ۩۞۩ஜ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
User avatar
hfric
3DSL Moderator
 
Posts: 4634
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2005 2:51 am
Thanks: 112
Thanked: 445 times in 380 posts

The following user would like to thank hfric for this post
Porus

Re: Kung Fu Panda (2008) Graphics Setting Issue

Postby Porus » Thu Nov 14, 2019 12:36 pm

Sure, I'll consider AMD CPU's, many :thanks: for your advice :)
Porus
Super Member
 
Posts: 121
Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 3:39 pm
Thanks: 79
Thanked: 16 times in 15 posts


Return to Games Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron